A – Z Challenge – Sci-Fi Films W is for War of the Worlds

Hi there bloggies, I’ve been seeing some post warning me of an A – Z Challenge and I was curious. I’ve seen this around before but have never participated, for some mad reason I thought I would give it a go.

So here I am.

My theme is the A-Z of Scifi moves, I’ve not given this a great deal of thought and I know of a number but I won’t lie there’s some I will struggle with. I hope you enjoy them!

W is for War of the Worlds

The first version of the War of the Worlds came to cinemas in 1953, remade in 2005 starring Tom Cruise, this is another classic 1950’s Sci-Fi remade in the modern times.

The story premise is simple, aliens come to Earth and start tearing up the place, killing and generally wiping out the human race. In the original 1950’s version you have a scientist trying to find out what is going on and how to stop them, in the 2005 version a father is trying to survive and protect his children. So there’s a lot of difference between the two versions of the story.

The ending for the 1950’s film I remember being a bit naff… as if the story kind of falls off a cliff.

I’ve seen the original version of this a number of times, but not the 2005 version. Maybe the story wasn’t so great – I can’t remember but entirely possible. Like many of the 1950’s Sci-Fi films while they have aged but are quite watchable and are pretty scary at times, I don’t know how they do it. The biggest difference is in societal attitudes more than anything.


With W done that means X is next… Nearly at the end now.


My Recent Posts:

13 thoughts on “A – Z Challenge – Sci-Fi Films W is for War of the Worlds

  1. The 1950s version was another tribute to the inventiveness of Special Effects (as they were called).
    The ending was something a classic 1950s US style (the studios were very mindful in those days of the ‘correct’ social and political message- hence the church scene)….The whole package hit the spot when I watched it first back in 1964

    Like

  2. I’ve not watched the original, only the 2005 version with Tom Cruise. I’m not a fan of Tom Cruise but if you ignore he’s the lead in the movie, I think it’s not too bad! Like thehuntress915 commented before me, if Keanu Reeves were in this, I’d be more invested 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m a bit of a purist when it comes to films, so the original 1950’s version is my favorite. The new one with Tom Cruise not so much, maybe it’s because it’s got Tom Cruise in it and I hate Tom Cruise. Now if Keanu Reeves was in it that’d be another story….lol
    And apparently there’s another War of the Worlds film in the works, so lets see how that one turns out.

    Liked by 1 person

It's great to hear from bloggies - feel free to leave a comment :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.