Creating the Titan

One of the reasons I started creating my own cover art for my own stories is becasue up until now I’ve taken a lot of other art from off the internet. This often has the result of really annoying people. It also means I’m not using what’s really in my head. Because of this and becasue I’m re-writing my Titan Mystery Story I thought that it’s own cover art was really needed.

Those of you who saw my first cover art postΒ Creating my own Universe saw that I have discovered a neat little way to go from pencil to computer graphics. The reason for this – I cannot doodle and create from scratch from a computer. At least not yet.

So I started with a crappy sketch.

2017-10-19_7182.jpg

 

Then scanned this and brought it in, messed about and changed some more to create a sketch that was what I wanted after changing my mind more than a few times.

Titan2.png

Starfield_titan.png

Filled in colours, textures, rendering etc etc to come up with this. What this depicts is a close view of the side of the hull, I wanted to try and give an impression of immensity. I’m not sure I’ve got it totally right, but I’m fairly pleased with the result. From this I’ve been able to create some cover art to replace pictures on here and have something for Wattpad.

I’m fairly pleased with the result I have to say and I’m starting to get the hang of it all, it’s just remembering it and give it a few more tries I might actually be pretty good. Who knows?

Simon:-)

12 thoughts on “Creating the Titan

    1. That’s what I thought and this is key to the whole thing. There are loads of steps I missed out which I could have included. I’m going to create some posts on this soon where I go through the lot.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ll be looking forward to that Simon, trying out computer generated art is something I’ve been meaning to look into.

        Liked by 1 person

It's great to hear from bloggies - feel free to leave a comment :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.