Interstellar

The other day I go the opportunity to watch a film I’ve had my eye on for ages – Interstellar. In short it’s about an Earth that is dying and the efforts of one man and his crew to find a suitable planet for the human race to live on. The human race is not yet able to travel between the stars, so we manage this by taking the Endevour (the space chip you see above) through a wormhole near Saturn. This worm hole doesn’t just take us a few star systems away – oh no. We don’t muck about – it takes them to another galaxy and a start system with three potential new planets.

The first thing I felt about this film was it felt in place very 2001 / Arthur C Clarke and in other’s a bit like Gravity. Which is ironic, because much of this film revolves around the human theories on gravity. The loneliness and the separation of the crew from their loved ones really comes out in this. and I feel mixed about this film because of the tragic swings in the story. Also when they discover a lone scientist who had survived in hibernation and later when their spacecraft is damaged. You can easily sense the increasing hopelessness.

There were a number of bit’s in the plot I really didn’t get. like how our hero (Matthew McConaughey) in sacrificing himself to the singularity end up in a dimension where he can see his daughters room and was himself the very presence his daughter could sense and was the person sending gravitational messages. He eventually ends up back around Saturn where he is rescued. It’s far fetched, but you can do that with Sci Fi where you can’t in other dramatic genre’s. Also one small point – if you need a space helmet to live on a planet, it doesn’t seem like it’s going to be a good match for the human race I think.

It is a quality film and I’m glad I watched it, but it’s not something I could watch again and again. If you’ve seen it, let me know what you think.

Simon 🙂

 

24 thoughts on “Interstellar

  1. Nope loved it! Would watch again. I think the part about seeing his daughter’s room meant to show him as existing in 2 different dimensions of time/space at once. The same with the part where he passes his own spaceship on the way back. Wibbly wobbly timey wimey!!!

    Liked by 1 person

It's great to hear from bloggies - feel free to leave a comment :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.