The Confessions of a Writer Tag

Claire at clairehuston nominated me for this tag. I love getting nominated for tags and things so of course I’m ever grateful to Claire for nominating me. She’s a very creative blogger and you should really go and have a look at her blog if you haven’t done so already.

the-confessions-of-a-writer-tag

The Confessions of a Writer Tag was created by Nicolette at A Little Bookish, A Little Writerly. It is a ‘get-to-know’ the writer interview tag, dedicated to spotlighting the creative process, works in progress, and connecting to other writers.

Rules of the Tag:

  • Please link back to A Little Bookish, A Little Writerly’s post, so that the original rules are always accessible to anyone who is curious and wants to participate!
  • Acknowledge the person who tagged you in your post.
  • Tag your friends and fellow writers – it’s up to you how many!

The Questions:

    1. When did you first start writing? Was being a writer something you always aspired to be?
      For a little while now I’ve had ideas for stories coming into my head. It’s only really this year that I’ve decided to start writing them. The problem is that it’s going to take years with the ideas I have now – with all the new ideas I get I’ll never get through them.
    2. What genre do you write?
      I tend to write Scifi and fantasy type stories. No novels yet, just short stories but I have started my first novel need to get working on it properly.
  1. Can you tell us a little about your current work in progress? When did you start working on this project?
    I started working on a story that’s been in my head for ages. Where the human race race had been force to evolve by manipulation of is history by a race that is nearly extinct and needs to survive and wants human kind to help them take their war to their enemy. That’s the basic in nuthell, but this will be a big story with lots of plot twists and unexpected events.
  2. What was your first piece that you can remember writing? What was it about?
    The first piece I wrote was about how the New Horizons space probe found more at Pluto that it was meant to find. This is going to be published on here soon.
  3. What’s the best part about writing?
    I find it a way to unleash my imagination and be in another world for a time.
  4. What’s the worst part about writing?
    Finding time to do it.
  5. What’s the name of your favorite character and why? (This can be from a book by another author or from your own work. Book crushes are perfectly acceptable here as well.)
    I have so many – I can’t name one.
  6. How much time a day/week do you get to write? When is the best time for you to write (morning or night)?
    It varies greatly depending on what’s going on, but I grab the time that I can.
  7. Did you go to college for writing? Or if you haven’t been to college yet, do you plan to?
    I’m an engineer and haven’t studied writing in a proper course. But I’ve been inspired to write now!
  8. What bothers you more: spelling errors, punctuation errors, or grammar errors?
    It depends, I think punctuation most because is can change the meaning of what you’re writing or make a sentence too long. Spelling and grammar come into one and I often have the spell checker alert me of something when writing scifi. To me writing is a message, if you convey the message then you’ve succeeded.
  9. What is the best writing advice that anyone has given you?
    Write for yourself – not anyone else.
  10. What advice would you give to another writer?
    Write for yourself and not anyone else and don’t be afraid to share your work (especially in the blogging world)
  11. What are your favorite writing sites or blogs that you turn to for help, tips or encouragement?
    I think Kristin Lamb and Rachael Ritchey are awesome 🙂
  12. Besides writing, what else do you enjoy doing? What are your hobbies?
    Other things I love doing include baking, reading and being outside:wpid-wp-1444596561092.jpeg
  13. What is the best book you’ve read this year?
    It has to be 2001 a space odyssey as this is my biggest scifi inspiration.
  14. What is the best movie you’ve seen this year?
    I have’s seen anything new this year I dont think – I want to see the Martian as everyone is raving about it oh and Star Wars.
  15. What is your favorite book or series of all time?
    Probably the Lord of the Rings
  16. Who is your favorite author?
    Definitely Arthur C Clarke
  17. What are your plans for the rest of the year in terms of your writing?
    I want t do NaNoWriMo next year and need to practice. Keep doing what I’m doing and see where I get.
  18. Where else can we find you online?
    I’m on Twitter on @Planet_Simon

I would like to these amazing fellow bloggers and writers:

Candice

Lucy

Marquessa

Felicia

Phoenix

I hope you guys have the time to take part. And thank you again to Claire for nominating me!

Simon 🙂

23 thoughts on “The Confessions of a Writer Tag

  1. I have a couple of comments:

    1. Thanks for the follow! 😀
    2. The Martian was awesome. Definitely worth the watch. It’s Space meets The Castaway but Matt Damon is way funnier.
    3. Your cake-like thing looks delicious. If you were my neighbor and left that on your window to cool, I’d totally steal it. It’s not that I’m a bad person, it’s that I simply can’t resist the charms of baked goods. I’m sorry in advance for stealing your cake in my imagination.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hsve some things to say too…
      1. My pleasure, i hope ivevmade a new friend.
      2. I totally need to see the martian.
      3. If you were my neighbour, i would invite you in for tea / coffe and cake. Isnt that better than taking it?
      P.S. Youre forviven… It totally understand ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so happy you could do this tag! I completely understand what you’re saying about finding the time. It can be very frustrating, particularly if you have lots of ideas you want to get down.
    When I got to see The Martian we got a trailer for Star Wars and I was so excited. I’d already seen it on the internet, but seeing it up on the big screen with the surround sound was so much better. The two ladies I went to the cinema with were like, “What’s this then? Oh, is there a new Star Wars film, then?” and I thought (only half joking), “You people are now dead to me.”!! haha! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Time is the key thing for me… I don’t know where to get it.
      Where have these lady friends of yours been? Seriously??? ON Mars? That is the only place I can think of where you wouldn’t be exposed at some point to the expected Star Wars film… I can’t wait and it’s out so near my birthday. I would like to go with a load of SciFi keen bloggers like yourself. it would be great! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It doesn’t matter who would be doing it, it a tough act to follow. I thought the criticism of the prequels was harsh. Sure there were some things that could have been improved but I liked them, not as much as the originals for sure. But that’s where the pressure is I guess. What I don’t believe is that George Lucas has done very little with the Star Wars brand while he owned it.

        Thank you for the award again… I loved getting it and doing it 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

It's great to hear from bloggies - feel free to leave a comment :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.