Murphy’s Law – Messing up

​Murphy’s law of probability or sod’s law is summarised by the saying “Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong.” This is a new little series intended to be a numerous and light hearted look at the world of cock up. More often than anything it’s the small things in life that stress us out, I know this is the case with me. This is a kind of reverse psychology look at the fact that when things go wrong – it ain’t that bad really.
Situation:

You have just finished washing or even painting a wall, table or other object. In the warm afterglow of having completed this task you sit or lean against the place you last washed or painted. Making a mess…

You scream. Murphy’s Law has struck. Again.

In this case the agent of Murphy is your own careless absent mindedness. This makes it worse in many ways!

What’s you view on Murphy’s Law? How has it struck you in the past… I hope you my fellow bloggies enjoy this little featurette.

Simon 🙂

22 thoughts on “Murphy’s Law – Messing up”

      1. Recommended ‘Three Men in A Boat’; ‘Three Men on the Bummel’ (same characters on a cycling tour of Germany). ‘Second Thoughts of an Idle Fellow’. You should be able to find them on free to read book pages; Audio Books are fun to listen to.
        There are many words of comfort concerning the ‘cowardly actions’ of so-called inanimate objects.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Not so bad…My two projects ‘Patchwork’ (the fantasy novel) and ‘True History of The Isles’ (the definitive history of these Isles) are being re-written, edited etc, and I’m not sure if I’m supposed to be having this much fun with them…
        Anyhow, they’re my antidote to the antics displayed on the daily news.
        How’s yourself?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yes, a guilt does seep in sometimes that I find myself insulted from some of the worries other folk have. But there again as a little voice tells me; ‘Make the most of it while you can….You know it can’t last,’🙃

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Lol … My motto is ‘it must not have been meant to be’ … Freshly painted and I mess it up: it was my subconscious telling me I didn’t do it right the first time… And I probably should pick a new color.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hahaha! Can we extend this to include the random “tumbleweed” of hair, yarn ends and thread cut-offs that appears in the middle of the floor AFTER I’ve finished a thorough hoovering of the house and put the vacuum cleaner away? Seriously, where does it come from?!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

