The Yule Log

I like to recycle this post over the Christmas period… let me know what you guys think!

Simon ๐Ÿ™‚

Planet Simon

image

For weeks I had been threatening to make a yule log for Christmas day. This is a chocolate Swiss roll covered in chocolate butter icing.

The Swiss roll I had made before:

https://sfarnell.wordpress.com/2015/11/30/chocolate-swiss-roll/

I then make chocolate butter icing and smooth this over to make it look log like.

This is sweet and yummy, best with double or clotted cream itโ€™s a heart attack in a bowl. I know right now you guts probably donโ€™t want to know much about this but this could be a new year treat too.

I hope you all had a good day and see you soon. In the meantime enjoy the thought of my Yule log.

Simon ๐Ÿ˜€

View original post

20 thoughts on “The Yule Log”

  1. This reminds me of my mom’s yules logs at Christmas. She had a catering business so Christmas and Thanksgiving were always busy for us cooking for other people. This was one of her signature desserts. She always makes a wonderful Black Forest Cake! Yum. ๐Ÿ™‚ Merry Christmas to you! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. looks great! i’ve never made a swiss role or yule log before. did you come up with your own butter cream recipe? if so, can you add it to your post with the cake recipe? i’d be interested in giving this a shot. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Kristi, you should try it. Let me know how you go. For butter cream i use a bit of butter and add icing sugar to taste. You can add vanilla essence or something like that to taste also. I’ve never weighed that out lol.
      How are you hun? โ˜บ

      Like

      1. You can add cocoa, it tends to make it stiff so add literally a drop of milk. Then chill to make it the right consistency. โ˜บ
        I’m finishing work tomorrow, hopefully it’ll be restful.

        Like

      2. Yeah, I do have to run into the office for a few minutes today and I’ll have a couple things to do over the holidays but it’s all stuff I can do from home. I’ve been so busy these past couple months with work travel that I’m past ready for the break.
        Thanks for the tip on the frosting. I’ll let you know if I’m successful or not! ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Pleased to help. Enjoy your christmas. By the way for chocolate frosting add a tiny bit of instant coffee with water. Tiny… It makes it taste more chocolatey

        Like

Leave a Reply

