What do I do? (A Rhetorical Question)

As many of you know – I’m an engineer. I design pretty patterns on a computer connecting up electronic components in weird an wonderful ways and get to call myself a PCB Design Engineer (or variations thereof).Β A few of you know what a while back I was offered a good job with slightly better pay, better benefits and the prospect of advancing my career. But guess what – I turned it down.

Why the heel did you do that? I can hear the cries from you now. I know, I know… I don’t know why I did. It just didn’t feel right. Perhaps because of the projects I had going on I couldn’t just drop, I didn’t feel it was fair.

The company said to me that if I changed my mind I should get in touch. I find myself thinking now ids the time to revisit this. With the projects over and things are pretty boring it seems like the right time. I’m looking at not doing much – if any exciting stuff over the next few monthsΒ so what’s stopping me?.

I’ve been thinking about it for weeks, going over in my mind the pro’s and con’s and as always this job potentially can lead to much better things. It sounds easy – but why isn’t it?

Simon πŸ™‚

60 thoughts on “What do I do? (A Rhetorical Question)”

  1. Perhaps because it is new. A funny feeling when all of a sudden doors open…. didn’t I just write about it lately πŸ˜‰ I can only say, when you feel the time is right now then don’t wait anymore until your mind talks you into the oposite again!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Simon, I don’t have any advice but wanted you to know I’m supporting whatever your decision is πŸ™‚ I can’t make a decision for what to eat for lunch… so I don’t think I should offer my advice!!! ❀ πŸ™‚ lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Carisa, you’re a sweetheart. I know you’ll always support my decision and that’s greatly appreciated. Don’t think you’re the only one that can’t make a rational choice at times, I’m guilty of many so don’t be quick to count out whatever you may think πŸ˜ƒ

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You’ll make the right decision. Maybe you’re right….doesn’t hurt to call them and counter offer. Maybe you can push and get more money too? Worth a shot. I believe in you and I know you can do anything you want to do. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Most folk like the comfort of certainty.
    Stuffy old me would be going in circles weighing up the pros & cons of which company was the safer bet.
    (but I spent 40+ years in H.M. Civil Service on that basis- institutionalised y’see….so what do I know?).
    Good luck & best wishes in which ever way you go Simon.
    Roger

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Roger, I appreciate it. Being St risk of getting stuck is what drives me. I need to keep growing or it’s not working and I become less effective when I have to find a new job. Which seems to happen more frequently than I would like lol

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Kind of. I freelance and it gives me a lot of freedom. However, I just got offered a job from one of my clients. I’m going to try to negotiate my way into the most freedom possible. Not a conventional choice, but I *think* it’s the right one.

        Liked by 2 people

  5. Just speaking for myself in the course of living with my Anxiety, i have dealt with, among other things, the recurring notion: if it’s too good to be true, it probably is. Hesitation. Paralysis. When if the other shoe going to drop? What am I not seeing?

    In short, taking a leap of faith is a hell of harder thing to do than it is to say. But sometimes that is exactly what life demands of us.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. A new job often means new opportunities. Will you be getting to experience new things with your current job? They offered once before, so they know you are talented, and they left the door open for you in the future if you decided you wanted to accept at a later date. Those chances don’t come around very often. Say you were in a relationship with someone…she was nice and you got along and you both were interested in the same things…but then one day, out of nowhere you meet this woman that is exciting and full of life and you both have a connection, so to speak…do you ‘stay’ in the relationship you’ve been in because you are ‘comfortable’ and that’s what you know, or do you take a risk, and possibly fall for the love you’ve been hoping for?…

    I know I probably didn’t make any sense there…it sounded better in my mind, and now I’m thinking that is where it should have stayed. Taking a chance, going beyond your comfort zone, is usually the time when something amazing happens. Simon – you get one life, and it should be filled with as much happiness as it possibly can.

    So sorry for this long comment. Just thought it was an important topic that needed a little extra thought. I know you must be having many thoughts running through your mind…but know you’re not the only one.

    -thrbrunetteinthepinkscarf ❀

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Questions are always good, Simon! I wish you the best with your decision and I hope it brings you what you want. πŸ˜€ you deserve it. High risks do yield big rewards. Sending positive thoughts your way and a huge hug! I like giving hugs! 😊 hope you are well! Perhaps visit the ducks…maybe the answer will come to you there. πŸ˜‰β€οΈ

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Thanks for the hugs and good wishes brunette – I like that you like giving hugs.
        I’ve seen the ducks already and the fish like Jaws. They don’t care! lol πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I know that, silly! 😜 I meant if the bunny hopped into the water on went close enough…that would be bad news. Good – be silly! If you aspire to be something…be silly! I’m in touch with being silly on a daily basis! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

