Cadbury’s Chocolate – An open letter to the company that screwed it up

This is an open letter to whoever is now running Cadbury’s. Well done, you did it didn’t you – you set out to achieve what you wanted to do all along didn’t you? Ruin our great British chocolate and ruin a fantastic brand. I’m not saying that everything you’ve done is a disaster, as I do quite like the bars of bubble chocolate, but it’s the tradional stuff that you should have left alone.

Cadbury's Chocolate1

The biggest example of this is the Creme Egg, it was great before you came along and some fiddly fingered little know it all (they think) comes along and changes the recepie. They then change the pack sizes from 6 (or multiples thereof with some 3’s admittedly) to 5. Ok, I know I’m late on the bandwagon here but I wanted to make sure that you understood that I’m not happy along with many, many others.

I don’t know if you’ve heard a saying “if it isn’t broke don’t fix it?” if you have then what in the world made you think that the Creme Egg was broken? The simple answer to this is that this is about corporate bullshit coming from people that are probably on another continent and profit. Why?!? What made you think that adding a dash or corporate with a touch of bitter at a higher price into one of our beloved products was going to make us want it more – please, don’t insult our intelligence, we’re not mugs!

By the way, the new advert that you have out that frequently interrupts my Spotify listening isn’t working – stupid words coming from a young lady like flavour-lishious are not making me want creme eggs or the like, I for one don’t like the new Creme Eggs. If you have half an ounce of sense you’ll put all the tradition Cadbury’s products back to how they were when you took over and then do somehitng you don’t want to – LEAVE THEM ALONE!!!!

Simon πŸ™‚

74 thoughts on “Cadbury’s Chocolate – An open letter to the company that screwed it up”

  1. I had a similar reaction when they changed my favorite chocolate where I live, a few years back. I think that they put in less of the thing that costs money, the chocolate/cacao itself, and put in much more sugar, instead, to save money. But, they lose, because I don’t buy as much of it, anymore… shortsighted businessmen… sigh. They should not touch our chocolate! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, you wouldn’t know it, tee hee! πŸ™‚ I live in the Scandinavian countries.. πŸ™‚ So not part of the US or UK markets. But I have had Cadbury’s when I was in the UK visiting!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Indeed there are! πŸ™‚ And I can tell you, that I have the exact same experience as you had… they had a wonderful chocolate here, I mean, it was made in Heaven.. πŸ™‚ Lol. But, then they changed it/made it cheaper. (it sort of started tasting like only sugar…)… So yeah… a chocolate revolution is not far away. I am glad you were on the barricades, with your letter! πŸ™‚ xo

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Well said my friend. I don’t buy them any more. I cannot believe they changed the recipe and short-changed us, by reducing the original amount. Cadbury’s should never have left British hands. Very sad indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I thought your open letter was awesome. When I was a young girl, I wrote a letter to Cabury’s. It was to tell them I loved their Easter chocolate bunnies. And when they got my letter, they sent me a free chocolate in the mail.
    It was my first experience with giving feedback to companies and imagine, it’s the same company you’re now complaining to.
    Ironic? Coincidence? Whatever it is, it’s interesting.

    Like

      1. Ill have to do a post on this and start the revolution.
        I think people should leave a message where the eggs are sold or something? What ideas do you have?

        Like

      2. Ha ha …think that’s a great idea ….what could the message be tho ?…something short and snappy that is easily seen to be dropped into the egg display …or some kind of message to slot into the packs of 5 that folk can’t miss when they open them? ….could probably get arrested for tampering ….can you imagine?:D:D

        My mind is now going to be occupied with this important issue for the rest of the day ……Thankyou Simon:D:D:D

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Ha ha …you’re getting beyond me now with your ‘Twitter trend’ ….think I’m going to make a load of little messages to drop as I pop into stores ….hmmmmm better not tamper with the actual packaging tho:D:D:D ….think I’ll blog about this and direct to your site ….it might seem daft and trivial but the message is about how multinationals are taking over smaller companies using their good name and selling us back a cheap substandard product ….RIP OFF!!!

        Hmmmmm …and let’s not even get started on the Terry’s Chocolate Orange …that thing was a work of art not to mention a MUST in the British Christmas stocking ….same thing has happened there too

        Hmmmm direct action via passive resistance ….way to go:D:D:D

        Like

      4. I think the messages is great. Don’t tamper of course… but there needs to be a message sent for these companies to stop giving us crap!

        Like

      1. What? No Milka or Toblerone? You guys are missing out. Of course being in the land of Cadbury I get it, but in light of recent unpleasant changes, I’d say you need to seek out imported chocolate goodness! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I loved it growing up, it wasn’t until I was around 14 that I started to dislike it. Everyone had all of these childhood friends and people they’d known all of their lives and I was starting over in high school with no friends…cue rebellious teenage girl phase… πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Blog haha. Sundays are laid back. I take advantage of the girls playing and napping to come up with ideas for the next week. Saturdays are our family day and we generally go for a walk and discover places new to us πŸ™‚

        Like

Leave a Reply

