My thoughts on the New X-Files

mulder&scully

Last night saw the return of Mulder and Scully to our screens on channel 5. I’ve already seen the word ‘underwhelming’ from the Guardian. While it’s their point of view, I totally disagree. This was a brilliant mix of the old and the new. Old credits, exactly the same as they were but a new dimension of the relationship between Mulder and Scully. But the same Mulder needing that truth he is always seeking.

Not only this, but we have instantly gone into it with a massive conspiracy theory and a new character who has made his fortunes from his internet show on conspiracies. Is he to be trusted, or just the pawn of something much bigger, reeling Mulder in? All the old characters are in, Skinner a new informant for Mulder and it wouldn’t be complete without ‘cancer man’ who is still puffin away, albeit in a rather different way.

Already I can see the potential for so many twists and turns, new paranoia has been created becasue of the ever real possibility of surveillance drones. This is as bang up to date as it could be. With X files, it’s not always about each story, it’s the underlying currents behind the story that’s subtle yet important and makes you think about where each character fits into the bigger plot.

Underwhelming? You either weren’t watching it properly or you just dont know X-Files. Ask them to critique after the six episoeds and I suspect the answer will be very different.

Simon 🙂

 

23 thoughts on “My thoughts on the New X-Files”

      1. I wouldn’t… reviews seem mixed. But I liked it. I reckon like the first time round it’s all sub plot building up. Once it starts coming together it will make more sense.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I am sorry but I was a bit underwhelmed from the first few episodes, to be honest.. I just didn’t get the same “feeling” as in the old series.. however, I truly loved the X-files when I was younger, so will keep watching it to see if I change my opinion. I hope to! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Agreed Simon, Initially I wasn’t convinced by the story line but as it developed I was increasingly impressed by how current the topics were and the attention to detail too. Going to give it a few more episodes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

