Ultra Bright Headlights

So there you are driving along the road, in the dark as it is a lot right now in the Northern Hemisphere and there they are. Among all the yellow lights which are bright enough you get the back of your retina burned out by some overpaid git who can afford posh new car… Then I cannot see for sometime after.

It makes me laugh how these bright lights are sold, the sales guy telling them “these are so bright, it will be like daylight” yes, wonderful for you. But everyone else you pass is blinded and might well have their eyes closed because every light rod in the back of their eyeball is now being beaten up by photons.

I don’t know who it is that came up with these but, please, please can we get these off the road. Most cars seem to get by fine with nice yellowish lights, why is it that these performance cars have to have these dazzlers. I wouldn’t mind so much, but they blind me on the rear too – they drive so fast and get close behind me I get what feels like a laser beam in my eye via my rear view mirror.

I hope I’m not offending anyone here, but if this applies to you it is a bit of feedback. It’s great you being able to see. Wonderful. But the rest of us are in misery… Just so you know.

Simon 🙂

46 thoughts on “Ultra Bright Headlights”

  1. Totally agree with you Simon. I hate it when this happens and I am driving by myself because I cannot even rely on the person next to me. It really makes you unable to see properly for a while after you’ve passed such cars. There are a lot of those here in Dubai. I think they were initially meant to keep them a bit dipped but it does not look like they are configured right. Besides anyway most of these cars tower over smaller cars so the dipping would not change much. I was thinking to myself should tweet this 🙂

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Okay, thank you. Just thank you. Someone else thinks this. 🙌🏼 there’s this person who lives in the town I do and they have BLUE, I mean BRIGHT blue headlights (not the LED kind either…) and they get behind me, drive as close as possible and blind me so bad. I’ve ran in the ditch a little because I couldn’t see. So I totally get where you’re coming from with this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

