42

the_hitchhiker_s_guide_to_the_galaxy_wallpaper_by_lucaszanella-d6821pm

This is blog post 42.

42 is a very significant number for me – it’s the answer to life the universe and everything according to Douglas Adams Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy. Most of you now are thinking that I should be confined to a darkened sealed room and left for a while to heal as the stress is getting to me and I’ve finally flipped.

For the most part you’re not wrong, however I’m a special breed – I’m and engineer and as such everyย engineer needs to have read this – by law!Other people are allowed to read this book of course, but only the engineer needs the education provided within it’s pages to survive. The ironic, satirical and clever humour and random, seemingly unconnected events prepare the engineer for all of this in their life.

hitchhikers_00251055

Along with this there is the advice to always carry a towel and… don’t panic. This kind of advice is invaluable and if there’s one thing in life I’ve learned, it’s not to panic. Often things are worse than they seem.

So this is my small and rather unusual celebration of post number 42.

Keep smiling and remember – don’t panic!

Simon ๐Ÿ™‚

27 thoughts on “42”

    1. Haha… I know what you mean. I used to be a lot like that.
      I don’t know if it’s more of a guy thing but I find I can detach from situations, I have to be careful because I can seem uncaring, or not interested but things don’t faze me much.

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Don’t worry – I just saw the title of the post in the WordPress Reader and though, “The answer to life, the universe and everything!” You’re not alone ๐Ÿ™‚
    My second thought was, “Damn! Why I didn’t think of doing that for my 42nd post!” ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Ah, there you go. It was totally unplanned an instant thing once i had posted my last quotes post so I cant be that clever lol
      I’m glad you liked it though and its good to know I’m in good company.
      Can i ask… Are you also a fellow Englander?

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I am indeed ๐Ÿ™‚ Some of my earliest memories involve being forced to watch the BBC TV version of Hitchhiker’s by my older sisters (who also have excellent taste in TV and books!).
        Am currently multi-tasking catching up on blogs while watching the Bake Off…

        Liked by 2 people

  2. My baby bro is studying to be a nuclear engineer and an electrical engineer! I’ve read the trilogy and seen the recent version of the movie. I absolutely LOVE the books! Great post! ๐Ÿ˜˜ ๐Ÿ’‹

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

